The Cricketing Extravaganza: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023


The ICC Cricket World Cup is a prestigious and highly anticipated event in the world of cricket, showcasing the best teams from around the globe. In 2023, cricket enthusiasts and fans alike are gearing up for the 13th edition of this tournament. This article will provide a comprehensive overview of the teams participating, the venues hosting the matches, and the schedule of this grand sporting spectacle.

Following is the updated squad list of all the 10 participating teams in the ICC ODI World Cup after announcement of replacements.

Team Partcipating In World Cup 2023.

Ten Teams Participating in world cup 2023

India is the one of the favourite contender of world cup 2023. 

The first World Cup triumph in 1983 marked a historic moment for Indian cricket. Under the leadership of Kapil Dev, the team defied the odds to lift the coveted trophy at Lord’s Cricket Ground in England. This victory laid the foundation for India’s emergence as a cricketing giant on the global stage.

Nearly three decades later, in 2011, India’s men’s team once again captured the World Cup title, this time on home soil. Led by M.S. Dhoni, the team displayed exceptional skill and teamwork throughout the tournament, culminating in a memorable final victory over Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This win ignited celebrations across the nation and solidified India’s status as a cricketing superpower.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.

Overall Performance of australia in 50-50 world cup.

The cricketing world has witnessed some truly remarkable moments in the history of the 50-50 World Cup, a tournament that brings nations together in a fierce battle of skill, strategy, and determination. Among the giants of the cricketing world stands Australia, a team that has left an indelible mark on the competition with its consistent performance over the years.

The Golden Period:

The 1990s and early 2000s can be aptly described as Australia’s golden period in 50-50 World Cup history. Under the captaincy of Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting, the team notched up an impressive string of victories. They clinched the World Cup in 1999, successfully defended their title in 2003, and triumphed yet again in 2007. This remarkable hat-trick of titles firmly established Australia as the team to beat in the world of One Day International (ODI) cricket.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

England’s performance in the ICC Cricket World Cup has been a rollercoaster ride over the years. The early years saw England as strong contenders, reaching the finals in 1979 and 1992 but falling short on both occasions. However, the 1990s and the early 2000s were marked by inconsistent performances and a struggle to advance deep into the tournament.

A significant turning point occurred in 2019 when England, hosting the World Cup, clinched their maiden victory in a thrilling final against New Zealand. This triumph was a testament to England’s resurgence in the ODI format, with their aggressive brand of cricket and depth in batting and bowling.

England squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

The 1992 triumph remained a high point for Pakistan in World Cup history for a long time. In subsequent editions, Pakistan often showcased flashes of brilliance but struggled to maintain consistency. They reached the semi-finals in 1987 and 2011 but couldn’t secure another championship.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim.

New Zealand’s performance in the 50-50 ICC World Cup was nothing short of exceptional. The Kiwis showcased their cricketing prowess, proving to be a formidable force throughout the tournament.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushan Hemantha

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Kumer Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Afghanistan squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Naveen ul Haq.

Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Sybrand Engelbrecht.


The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 was a thrilling and unforgettable tournament that showcased the best of international cricket. It brought together teams from around the world, each with their own unique strengths and styles of play. As the tournament unfolded, we witnessed remarkable displays of skill, determination, and sportsmanship.

In the end, only one team could emerge as the world champion, and they did so with pride and glory. The winning team’s journey was filled with ups and downs, but they overcame all challenges to claim the coveted trophy. Their victory will be celebrated by their nation and fans worldwide, and it will serve as a source of inspiration for aspiring cricketers everywhere.

Throughout the tournament, we were treated to exceptional performances by individual players who etched their names in cricketing history. Whether it was the breathtaking batting of a top-order batsman, the precision of a world-class bowler, or the agility of a wicketkeeper, these players reminded us of the beauty and diversity of the sport.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 also provided fans with unforgettable moments and memories. From nail-biting finishes to high-scoring thrillers, the tournament delivered excitement at every turn. The atmosphere in the stadiums and the passion of the fans added to the spectacle, creating an electric atmosphere that will be remembered for years to come.

As the tournament concluded, cricket enthusiasts around the world reflected on the unforgettable moments, the outstanding performances, and the camaraderie that defines the spirit of cricket. The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will remain a cherished chapter in the history of the sport, a testament to the power of cricket to bring people together and inspire a global audience

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *